The Sorcerer’s Apprentice

In the syllabus for the course, we’re suppose to have some kind of  documentation of our process of creating our capstone. 

I’ve decided that my blog will hold a better purpose if I use it to write about my process than trying to keep a journal. This way it serves two purposes for the price of one!

HUZZAH FOR MULTITASKING! 

But, anyway, an update on my progress:

 

Image

…is basically it in a nutshell. 

You’d think, that because Creative Writing is my major and because of my long love-affair with writing and story-telling that it wouldn’t be, BUT IT IS. 
IT IS SO VERY MUCH. 

It’s even harder to do when 
A) You’re sick because allergy season is happening 
B) You’re taking 3 other classes that require at least 25% (if not more) of your time and will-power
C) Those other 3 classes either have massive readings due or end-of-semester projects coming up
D) Your work is giving you unbelievable hours because people are bastard coated bastards with bastard fillings and just decide not to show up (we’re hiring in new staff-members. We depend on them to actually come because that’s how we steady-staffers get to leave at a decent time. They don’t show up? We’ve got to cover the shift they were suppose to work, which means I’ve had solid 9-10 hours a day PLUS the extra-time I put in to cover for the opener–6:30 a.m.–when I get out of class on Mondays and Wednesdays. I don’t know about you, but that makes a bloody long week with 0% motivation to do anything when I get home but park my ass in front of a TV for an hour before calling it a night, rinsing, and repeating). 
E) Your work is also taking on 4 night kids, two of whom are under the age of 1, that want to stay until 10 p.m. (we’re talking 11-12 hours at a daycare…for infants. Are you KIDDING ME RIGHT NOW?) and you’re more or less going to have to cover a day or two on the night shift because everyone else “isn’t good enough”. 
F) You’ve got to worry about Grad school stuff
G) Your project is literally going to make you regret doing it because YOU JUST HAVE TO BE CRAFTY
H) Your cousin’s getting married, you’re in the wedding, and weddings are hard. 
I) Your friend’s mom’s getting re-married, you’re in the wedding, and weddings are hard. 
J) Your friend-coworker’s preggers, having a baby-shower, and you need to attend because reasons. 
K) Sleeping would be nice when it’s dark outside. 

So yes. Life sucks and then you die, right?

Soon, soon this will be done and all I’ll have to worry about it what to watch on Netflix. Hopefully. 

But, anyway, enough digression for one post. I’m here to update, not complain about my hectic life!

I’ve had very little physical time to work on my project (which sucks, since it’s due soon), but in between classes, during quiet time at work, and while I’m shampooing my hair, I’ve had time to think about it. And one thing I’ve thought about a lot is how to format this book. 

Well, I’ve decided. It’s going to take place in a fake-realm, kind of like how Harry Potter takes place in the Wizarding community. 
In this realm, Myths, fairy tales, and legends (etc.) are all real. They are only told as fairytales, etc. to throw-off the scent of people capturing the creatures and doing evil things to them. 
Yes, it’s kind of a trope in a way, but it’s working for me. Besides, I’m trying to be ironic here. Let me be ironic. 
There’s a society, one I’ve named (for now), “Scholarly Corps of Myth, Magic, and Legend (the SCMML for short)” in which a secret community observes, records, and discovers things about the creatures that are found in various myths, fairy tales, and legends (etc.). My main character, Dr. Zola Wincast (who has been given a unisex name), is taking on an apprentice (the person reading the book) and telling them about the “Lutins” or little people. In order for the apprentice to do any field work themselves, they must study under a department head and learn about all they can. Dr. Wincast is one of the best in the field and therefore almost always takes the new-recruits on first. Not to mention the Lutins are supposedly the easiest to learn about, since there’s not much folklore on them in the first place to scew a person’s understanding.
It’s a development in the making, and it’s a great direction for my book. It’s at least a much better idea than just making a field journal!

Anyway, here’s a sample letter from the book:

To whom it may concern,

 

            I hope that this finds you well. You know who you are. I trust that you’ve been keeping up on your studies and try your best not to get yourself worked up over small things, even though the entire reason I’m writing you this letter is because of “small things”.

            I must also inform you of code 773 and not let this book get into the hands of the wrong people. It is to stay within our community and kept a secret, less we want to spoil the lives of people living perfectly all on their own!

            As you know, the Scholarly Corps of Myth, Magic, and Legend (the SCMML for short) have recently been cataloging their findings to better preserve a sense of regiment. I, Dr. Zola Wincast, of the Myth and Magic department, first class, FT7364, have been placed in-charge of documenting the little people known as “Lutins”.  You, my friend, having recently joining the Corp, having recently becoming my apprentice, must learn everything I have written in the book before joining me out in the field. “

It’s only a part of it, but it’s coming along. This is the letter that will be in an envelope for the person to read. 
If you look back to my last post, the “letter about ‘Z’ will most likely be changed to a course list of sorts, or something. 

Like I said, this is a huge work in progress and I hope to get the template set this weekend, in between my dress fitting for my friend’s mom’s wedding and my friend-coworker’s baby shower. 
Oh, and in between doing all my other homework too. 

When will I ever find the time to sleep?

Image
(actual representation me from now until the end of April)

Until next time, 
Sami

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment